Behavior Intervention Team

Mission Statement

The Behavior Intervention Team is dedicated to a proactive, coordinated and planned approach to the identification, prevention, assessment, management, and reduction of interpersonal and behavioral threats to the safety and wellbeing of Oconee Fall Line Technical College students, faculty, staff and visitors.

Goals

  • Provide a safe physical environment for members of the college community,
  • Provide a safe emotional environment for the college community, and
  • Promote peace of mind for friends and family of the college community.

OFTC has established the Behavioral Intervention Team to assist in addressing situations where students, faculty, or staff are displaying behaviors that are disruptive, threatening, or concerning in nature that potentially impede their own or others’ ability to function successfully or safely. It is the responsibility of faculty, staff, and students to immediately report any situation that could possibly result in harm to anyone at the college.  Any member of the campus community may become aware of a troubling person or situation that is causing serious anxiety, stress, or fear. However, behavioral assessment should not be confused with crises management. A crisis may be defined where a person may pose an active or immediate risk of violence to self or others. OFTC employees certified law enforcement officers to perform security functions on our campuses.  Officers may be reached at one of the phone numbers below; contact 911 if you have an emergency.

Campus Time Phone Number
Dublin (South Campus) Day
Evening
478-595-6603
478-595-6596 or 478-595-6553
Sandersville (North Campus) Day
Evening
478-240-5176
478-357-0091
Jefferson County Center Day & Evening 478-625-1901
Little Ocmulgee Instructional Center Day & Evening 229-868-7834 or 229-868-7857
Hancock County Center Day & Evening 478-232-7241

In non-emergency situations, you may fill out an online concern report, call or email a member of the Behavioral Intervention Team, or submit an anonymous report.

  • Concern Form (PDF) – Print and complete this form. Then, email it to a member of the Behavioral Intervention Team as noted on the form.
  • Concern Form (Online) – Click the link and follow the prompts to submit your concern.

The team will coordinate a team response to the issue and keep you informed. This may include interim suspension and removal from class and/or campus until the threat can be assessed. Please also inform your division chair, dean or  supervisor of any ongoing issues.

Behavioral Intervention Team Membership

  • Erica Harden, Executive Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs, Chair – 478-553-2068 eharden@oftc.edu
  • Dr. Saketha Adams, Dean of Student Affairs – 478-553-2080, sadams@oftc.edu
  • Saketta Brown, Career Services/Disability Services Coordinator– 478-274-7643, sdbrown@oftc.edu
  • Geri Clements, Student Navigator– 478-553-2066, gclements@oftc.edu
  • Tiffany Lofton, Dean of Adult Education – 478-274-7849,  tlofton@oftc.edu
  • Jay Mullis, Dean of Student Affairs– 478-274-7879, jmullis@oftc.edu
  • Sharon O’Neal, Executive Director of Human Resources – 478-553-2056 – soneal@oftc.edu
  • Jennifer Todd, Instructional Coordinator – Adult Education – 478-553-2077, jtodd@oftc.edu
  • Marcus Rogers, Chief of Safety and Security– 478-274-7871,  mwrogers@oftc.edu