In consideration of the current health crisis, all regularly scheduled Driver’s Education courses including those listed on this page are postponed until further notice. Our campuses will continue to be closed to non-essential personnel and to the public until we see a decline in the spread of the virus or until directed to open the campuses.
Until OFTC reopens to the public, no Driver’s Education classes will be available. Because of the requirement of 6 hours of driving with an OFTC Instructor, it would be impossible to fulfill the requirements and maintain a safe, 6 ft distance between the instructor and the students. If an alternative course is made available online with coursework only, we can notify you. Please contact Katrina Veal at firstname.lastname@example.org to be placed on a notification list.
Learning to drive is a major milestone in a teenager’s life. It’s important for young or inexperienced drivers to learn safe driving techniques. There are four different ways Joshua’s Law can be satisfied for teenagers to meet the requirements for a Class D license. The program offered by Oconee Fall Line Technical College meets the option that includes 30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours of drive behind the wheel time with an instructor. Most insurance companies also give a reduction (10%) on insurance premiums upon successful completion. OFTC provides a (DDS approved) Driver’s Educational program in cooperation with the Georgia Driver’s Education Commission (GDEC).
Participants must be between 15 and 17 years of age and possess a Learner’s Permit. Participants must attend all class dates for the full class periods. They must also complete all six (6) hours of behind-the-wheel driving.
Cost for the course is $350.00. Class sizes are limited, so hurry to register!
REFUND POLICY Students who officially withdraw from a course prior to the first instructional day of the class will receive a 100% refund of tuition. Students who withdraw from a course after the start of the first instructional day shall receive no refund of tuition. Refunds, when due, will be made by check to the address shown as the student’s official home of record within 30 days of the first day of class, or from the date the College cancels the class due to low enrollment. Students should notify their instructor to formally withdraw from a course prior to the first day of class..
NOTE: All scheduled classes have a minimum enrollment requirement of eight (8) students unless otherwise specified.
|Class Dates 2020
||Day||Time||Location||Applications Accepted for Scholarships|
|CANCELED – Mar 7, 14, 21, 28|
|CANCELED – Mar 7, 14, 21, 28|
|Apr 25, May 2, 9, 16||Sat||8am – 4pm||Dublin Campus||March 1 – 31|
|Apr 25, May 2, 9, 16||Sat||8am – 4pm||Sandersville Campus||March 1- 31|
|*Note: Driving time is planned around student schedules and instructor availability after completion of the 30 hours of classroom training. Students must have learners permit prior to the class starting. Students will have a 30 minute lunch each day. Class location addresses.|
Georgia Driver’s Education Commission (GDEC)Grant Scholarship Program
Information for Students/Parents:
Beginning in January 2017, the Georgia Driver’s Education Commission began a new scholarship program in which students may apply online for a driver’s education grant scholarship.
How do I register?
- Apply Online for Student Scholarship from GDEC
- Click on Registration link, complete the form, and click the submit button
- Submit a copy of your child’s learner’s permit to Katrina L. Veal at email@example.com
You must complete all three steps to reserve a seat in the class you choose.
Upon award of scholarship, students will be provided with a redemption code and may choose a course provider from a list of authorized driver training schools to redeem the grant scholarship. Choose – Oconee Fall Line Technical College (OFTC), an authorized training provider under the scholarship program, from the list.
OFTC will then redeem your grant scholarship through an online portal. You must have been awarded the scholarship and had been redeemed by OFTC before the student begins the class in order for the scholarship to be used. Once the student has completed the driver’s education course, the course provider will upload a copy of the student’s certificate of completion through an online portal and request reimbursement for the student’s driver’s education course fee.
NOTE: According to the GDEC, application will be due by the 30th of each month, and applicants should be notified of awards/denials via email by the 1st of each month. Georgia Driver’s Education Scholarships are NOT awarded by Oconee Fall Line Technical College. Therefore, we will not be able to check application status nor answer questions about the process nor status of scholarships. Any scholarship inquires will need to be directed to the GDEC.
If you are NOT applying for a scholarship through GDEC, submit your payment for the $350.00 course fee, $150.00 30-hr classroom fee, or $200.00 6-hr driving time fee. Payments must be made at least seven (7) business days prior to the first day of class.
If you would like to apply for the scholarship through GDEC, apply online for Student Scholarship from GDEC.
If you are not awarded a scholarship voucher, go to OFTC to pay the $350 course fee. Payments must be made seven (7) business days prior to the first day of class.
You can choose to complete the 30-hr classroom time only for $150.00 and the 6-hr driving time only for $200.00. Please contact the school for more information.
For more detailed information, please contact:
OFTC – Dublin Campus
Katrina L. Veal
560 Pinehill Rd
Dublin, GA 31021