Braxton Named 2020 Rick Perkins Award Winner & Instructor of the Year

Kelley Braxton, a Clinical Coordinator and Instructor for Oconee Fall Line Technical College’s (OFTC) Respiratory Technology program and a Division Chair for the Allied Health Department, was recently named the College’s 2020 Rick Perkins Award (RPA) winner and Instructor of the Year at a college-wide meeting on Friday, December 13.

The RPA program seeks to honor the Technical College System of Georgia’s (TCSG) most outstanding instructors who make significant contributions to technical education through innovation and leadership.

Braxton has been a part of the OFTC family since 2014. She has a Bachelor of Science degree in Respiratory Therapy from Middle Georgia State University, and a Master of Science in Health Sciences with a concentration in Respiratory Therapy from Georgia State University.

For four years in a row, Braxton has received the COARC Distinguished RRT Credentialing Success Award on behalf of OFTC, given in recognition of outstanding performance to nationally accredited respiratory programs for RRT credentialing success, retention, on-time graduation rate, and overall employer and graduate satisfaction.

She was nominated for the RPA by respiratory student, Susan Scarbrough.

Braxton competed against three other semi-finalists: Kim Meeks, English Instructor (Dublin Campus); Jeff Partridge, Welding Instructor (Jefferson County Center); and Angel Williford, Math Instructor (Sandersville Campus).

Each finalist prepared a speech and participated in a series of interviews held by a panel of judges made up of local representatives from the Laurens and Washington county Pilot clubs: Diane Davie and Anne Lastinger of Sandersville and Carole Simmons and Sarah Routh of Dublin. The instructors were judged on criteria like innovative instruction, educational achievement, and college and community leadership.

As the College’s 2020 Rick Perkins Award winner, Braxton will represent OFTC in regionals as she competes against other top instructors from TCSG colleges in February. The top region finalists will compete at the state-level in Atlanta in April and the winner will be named the state’s 2020 RPA winner.

For more info on OFTC or the College’s 100+ programs of study, visit the College’s website,

OFTC's 2020 Rick Perkins Award finalists: Kelley Braxton, Angel Williford, Jeff Partridge, and Kim Meeks (np).

OFTC’s 2020 Rick Perkins Award finalists: Kelley Braxton, Angel Williford, Jeff Partridge, and Kim Meeks (np).