2021 Annual Washington County Science Fair Winners Announced

High school overall 2021 science fair winner and runner-up
High school overall winner and runner-up

Two-hundred and nine young scientists, sixth through twelfth grade, presented research projects during the annual Washington County Science Fair hosted at Oconee Fall Line Technical College (OFTC) in Sandersville, Thursday, December 2 and Friday, December 3.

Participating schools included Washington County High School, T.J. Elder Middle School, and Brentwood.

“Each year I am so impressed with the projects and so proud of the students in the school systems in Washington County,” shared Kathy Aaron, science fair organizer and Executive Director of Institutional Advancement at OFTC.

Thirty-two individuals volunteered to serve as judges for the science fair with backgrounds in the medical, engineering, chemical, mathematics, biology, education, psychology, botanical, and military fields. “The OFTC Foundation would like to thank each judge who volunteered their knowledge and time to make this event so successful,” she added.

The following businesses sponsored the science fair through the OFTC Foundation: Thiele Kaolin Company, Imerys, Howard Sheppard Inc., Bulk Chemical, Burgess Pigment, Queensborough National Bank, Washington EMC, Moye’s Insurance, Geo. D. Warthen Bank, and The OFTC Foundation. 

“Our success would not be possible without these sponsors and we’re thankful for their generosity and continued support of this great community project each year,” Aaron said.

The overall winners are encouraged to participate at the regional science fair held at Georgia College and State University in Milledgeville. The OFTC Foundation sponsors each one by paying their regional science fair entry fees. “We wish these students the best of luck at the next level,” Aaron said.

For more info on the OFTC Foundation or the college’s 130+ programs available, visit the OFTC.edu website.

Science Fair Winners

Middle School

Middle School – 3rd Place

Aaden Crawford
Ady Davis and Riley Cook
Anna Meeks
Cayden Flournoy
Everett Trussell
Eyan Adams
Gianna Reynolds
Isabella Price
Janay Taylor
Jayanna Jackson
Kaitlyn Reynolds
Makayla Tucker
Piper Hammond
Reese Stewart
Rylan Jenkins
Sasah Palmer
Tanner Macy
Wilson Armstrong

Middle School – 2nd Place

Alyssa Boyen and Savannah Peavy
Brandi Stephens
Brayden Tyson
Caitlin Watts
Camila Wiggins
Emma Brantley
Ethan Daniel and Nathan Diaz
Ethan Brantley
Gracie McGraw
James Croome
Kaili Guo
Kambriel Wiley
Kaylee Chandler
Kydra Ivey
Lillie McDonald
Morgan Roberson
Mya Harris
Reagan Wright

Middle School – 1st Place

Caleb Lacey
Elizabeth Tarbutton and Addison Daniel
Jacob Hooks
Kate Atkinson and Mollie Dollar
Katie Wilkinson
Katie Burden
William Tatum

Middle School Runner-up

Jacob Hooks

Middle School Overall Winner

Elizabeth Tarbutton and Addison Daniel

High School

High School – 3rd Place

Kadence Amerson
Allana Anderson
Thatcher Andrews
Baylen Braswell
Kandace Burden
A’Luria Cannida
Jasmine Colllins
Trevor Copeland
Skyla Cordy
Matthew Cummings
Thomas Duggan
Harley Eastmead
Kaitlin Gardner
Sarah Goldman
Jah’cari Hagans
Haley Hart
Ree Hatfield
Kayden Hope
Cole Jackson
Rachel Josey
Tyson Lape
Avionna Livatt
Bailee McCoy
madison parker
Sofia Parsley
Mia Pettit
Ike Pool
Cayden Rhodes
Ahzaiah Rolle
Melana Sellars
Alexis Tucker
Chandlar Veal
Addyson Vickers
Aniyah Watkins
Summer Wilbanks
Bella Wilson
Rodney Woodard
Jiniah Wright

High School – 2nd Place

Samantha Clifton
Abbey Daniel
MaKayla Dunn
DeAsia Evans
Logan Jackson
Rachel Jorree
Timyrius Lewis
Madelyn May
Serenity Smith
Caylei Tanner
Emma Tatum
De’Niyah Tolbert
Savannah Wilbanks
Stormy Yawn

High School – 1st Place

Hillaree Ingram
Kate Mathis
Serenity McCaw
Ethan Smith

High School Overall Runner-up

Serenity McCaw

High School Overall Winner

Ethan Smith

To view photos from the Science Fair, visit the OFTC Facebook page.